I accept cookies from this site

We use cookies to help make this website better. To find out more about the cookies we use, please read our Cookies Policy. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, you consent to this use, but if you want, you can find information in our Cookies Policy about how to remove cookies by changing your settings.

I am stuck in ONE question at IRBLAWS EXAM! Help!
sidney ribeiro neto
Level 1 Coach
Brazil
An in-goal player catches the ball from an opponent's kick and touches it down. That player is then late tackled. What actions are available to the referee?
 
Penalty kick anywhere on the 22m line Penalty kick on the 5m line A drop-out Penalty kick at the centre of the 22m line Player admonishment Player temporary suspension Player send-off
Posted 16 Oct 2014 11.04pm
Andrew Macrae

Brazil

I have been asked to coordinate  a new rugby discipline for future PE teachers - PE graduates. I have seen some good material for teaching primary school kids at RFU.com .  I am curious to know if anyone on this forum is already a rugby teacher / lecturer.  My feeling is we should be teaching future PE teahces Tag rugby to start with but then how does it progress ?  Are there teaching guides already in Portuguese available?  

I am keen that one legacey of Sevens at the Olympics in Rio de Janeiro is that rugby is also taught at the public schools in Rio de Janeiro State, Brazil.

All advice gratefully received.

 

Posted 17 Oct 2014 06.04pm
Russell Speelman
Level 1 Match Official
South Africa
Sidney I'm sitting with the shame question and it seems like the answer they are looking for is not there.Also question 17 the maul.Please get back to me if you have the answer before me I'll do the same.
Posted 19 Oct 2014 09.04am
Jay Goonetilleke
Level 1 Match Official
United States

Hello Sideny,

According to Law 21.2 where pentalty and  fress kick are taken -is 5 meters from the goal line. I hope this help you! Good Luck

Jay Goonetilleke,

Birmingham, AL and Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 19 Oct 2014 07.04pm
Shamrath Fernando
Level 2 Coach of Match Officials
Sri Lanka
Posted by sidney ribeiro neto
An in-goal player catches the ball from an opponent's kick and touches it down. That player is then late tackled. What actions are available to the referee?
 

Penalty kick on the 5m line.
Player admonishment Player temporary suspension .Player send-of

 

Edited by Shamrath Fernando on 20th Oct 2014 at 08:05

Posted 20 Oct 2014 07.04am
Sean Mallon
World Rugby Master Trainer
Netherlands

This is interesting. As the player has already touched the ball down, play would normally restart with a 22 meter drop-out. Therefore the correct sanction is a penalty kick taken anywhere along the 22-meter line. 

 

Law 10(n) Misconduct when the ball is out of play

If play would restart with a drop-out, the non-offending team MAY choose to take the penalty kick anywhere on the 22-meter line.

 

Posted 23 Oct 2014 03.04pm
Russell Speelman
Level 1 Match Official
South Africa
I agree with Sean misconduct only happened after the ball was touched down so play had to restart with a 22m drop out.But the player who downed the ball was tackled late.So penalty for the late charge on the 22m.Player who is guilty of misconduct send off
Posted 24 Oct 2014 09.04am
brendan smith
Rugby Ready Certified
South Africa

its Player admonishment Player temporary suspension .Player send-of and a penalty kick anywhere on the 22 line



Posted 31 Oct 2015 03.04pm
Hanafi Zahari
Rugby Ready Certified
Malaysia

1)the answer is Penalty kick anywhere on the 22 line

2) player temporary suspend

3) player send off

4) player admonishment

Posted 15 Dec 2015 08.04am
Eben Olivier
Level 1 Match Official
South Africa
Posted by sidney ribeiro neto
An in-goal player catches the ball from an opponent's kick and touches it down. That player is then late tackled. What actions are available to the referee?
 
Penalty kick anywhere on the 22m linePenalty kick on the 5m lineA drop-outPenalty kick at the centre of the 22m linePlayer admonishmentPlayer temporary suspensionPlayer send-off

 

Posted 28 Dec 2015 11.04am
Tanka Raj Giri
Level 1 Match Official
Nepal

Hi I am stock on this question please make me clear thus options

Thank you.

 

 

5
What immediate options does the player who goes to ground to gain possession of the ball have?
 
Get up with the ball Release the ball and move away from it or get up Pass the ball Get up without the ball Hand the ball to a player not on the ground Place the ball and move away from it or get up

Posted 31 Dec 2015 06.04am
Gareth Davies
Rugby Ready Certified
Wales

Hi guys,

 

I'm having a similar problem with this Question:

Exam Questions: Law 20: Scrum
 
1
What should occur if a scrum is wheeled through more than 90 degrees?
 
1 Continuity of play 
2 Free kick to the team that did not throw in 3 Another scrum is awarded, with the team in possession throwing in 
4 Another scrum is awarded, with the team not in possession throwing in 
5 If possession is undetermined, another scrum is awarded and the same team throws in 
6 If possession is undetermined, another scrum is awarded and the opposing team throws in
Select one or more answers

I've been selecting the third option down but it comes back as incorrect, in fact I've tried a number of different combinations but none are coming back right. It's only this question stopping me completing the whole thing. Any help would be much appeciated.
 
Many Thanks,
 
Gareth
Posted 2 Jan 2016 08.04pm
firdaus naem
Rugby Ready Certified
Malaysia
What should occur if a scrum is wheeled through more than 90 degrees?

 

please I need this answers hmmmmm

 

Posted 6 Mar 2017 03.04pm
Gerwyn Bryan
Rugby Ready Certified
England

Gareth, did you get a satisfactory response to this? I'm having th esame problem.

Best,

Gerwyn

Posted 9 Mar 2017 10.04am
Gurshon Daniels
Level 2 Coach
South Africa

If the scrum is wheeled through the 90 degrees the team in position of the ball has to put it in the reset scrum again.

Posted 10 Mar 2017 05.04am
Gerwyn Bryan
Rugby Ready Certified
England

I agree totally Gurshon, ie the 3rd option, however the computer refuses to accept this as an answer. Grrrr....

 

Posted 10 Mar 2017 08.04am
Werner Cromm
Match Official Educator
Germany

Have a look at the scrum laws. Law 20.11(b) has changed recently.

Posted 10 Mar 2017 08.04am
Gerwyn Bryan
Rugby Ready Certified
England

Thanks Werner,

The law states the following but sadly that option is not available in the multiple choices available - annoying to say the least!

(a)

If a scrum is wheeled through more than 90 degrees, so that the middle line has passed beyond a position parallel to the touchline, the referee must stop play and order another scrum.

 

(b)

This new scrum is formed at the place where the previous scrum ended. The ball is thrown in by the team that previously threw it in.

 

Posted 10 Mar 2017 08.04am
Roneet Nand
Rugby Ready Certified
Fiji
 any help on this question
From the kick-off, the ball is kicked directly into touch. Which of the following decisions can the defending team make?

 

Posted 16 Mar 2017 05.04am
Gurshon Daniels
Level 2 Coach
South Africa
  • To have the ball kicked off again, or
  • To have a scrum at the centre and they have the throw-in, or
  • To accept the kick.
Posted 16 Mar 2017 05.04am


Log in or Register

Participate in the World Rugby Passport Forum by Logging in or registering below

Register
© World Rugby 2010 - 2017 | Terms & Conditions of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy.