J'accepte les cookies de ce site

Nous utilisons les cookies pour améliorer la qualité de ce site. Pour en savoir plus sur les cookies, veuillez lire nos Principes sur les Cookies. Si vous continuez sans changer vos paramètres concernant les cookies, vous acceptez cette utilisation mais, si vous le voulez, vous pouvez trouver les informations dans nos Principes sur les Cookies pour savoir comment effacer les cookies en modifiant vos réglages.

Doubt regarding the offside rule
Matthew Ward
Certifié - Règles du Jeu
Brazil

I wonder if someone could clarify a doubt I have regarding the offside rule.

- If a player is in front of the kicker, he is offside.

- If the kicker overtakes the offside player, the offside player is put onside again.

- What happens if the previously offside player then overtakes the kicker, because he is a faster runner... is he offside again, or does the fact that he's been put onside once by the kicker mean that play can continue?

Thanks in advance for any light shed. Smile

Posté 19 mai 2017 01.12
Frederick Shaw
Certifié - Rugby Ready
England

Matthew 

I would suggesst that once the 'offside player' is onside and legal then it would be as if he or she  had been behind the kicker from the point of the ball being kicked.

So as with any player behind the kicker he or she can over take the kicker and compete for the ball without being offside......does that make sense ?

 

How is Brazil ? I am in La Paz. Bolivia and will be moving to Montevideo  in August.   Fred

Posté 19 mai 2017 02.12
Werner Cromm
Formateur d’officiel de match
Germany

Matthew,

When the kicker, or team-mate who was level with or behind the kicker when (or after) the ball was kicked, runs in front of the offside player the player is put onside.

He will not been put onside if he was interfering with play or moving forward while he was offside or fail to comply with the 10-Metre Law.

If, in your case, the (former offside) player was not within the 10-meter area, he remains onside after he outpaced the kicker. Therefore play continues.

Posté 19 mai 2017 02.12
Matthew Ward
Certifié - Règles du Jeu
Brazil
Posted by Frederick Shaw

Matthew 

I would suggesst that once the 'offside player' is onside and legal then it would be as if he or she  had been behind the kicker from the point of the ball being kicked.

So as with any player behind the kicker he or she can over take the kicker and compete for the ball without being offside......does that make sense ?

 

How is Brazil ? I am in La Paz. Bolivia and will be moving to Montevideo  in August.   Fred

 That makes sense, yes, thanks Fred. I'm originally from the UK but am coaching a team in Brazil, we're playing in our first Sao Paulo state championship this year.

Thanks for your help.

Hope you enjoy Montevideo, I've heard it's a great city.

Posté 19 mai 2017 09.12
Matthew Ward
Certifié - Règles du Jeu
Brazil
Posted by Werner Cromm

Matthew,

When the kicker, or team-mate who was level with or behind the kicker when (or after) the ball was kicked, runs in front of the offside player the player is put onside.

He will not been put onside if he was interfering with play or moving forward while he was offside or fail to comply with the 10-Metre Law.

If, in your case, the (former offside) player was not within the 10-meter area, he remains onside after he outpaced the kicker. Therefore play continues.

 Thanks Werner for clarifying that for me, you gave a very clear explanation.

All the best!

 

Posté 19 mai 2017 09.12


Login ou S’inscrire

Participez au Forum du Passeport World Rugby avec votre Login ou en vous s’inscrivant ci-dessous

S’inscrire
© World Rugby 2010 - 2017 | Conditions générales du site | Règles de confidentialité | Principes sur les Cookies.