Acepto cookies de este sitio

Usamos cookies para que nos ayuden a mejorar este sitio web. Para saber más sobre los cookies que usamos, consultar nuestra Política de Cookies. Si usted continúa sin cambiar su configuración de cookies, usted consiente esta utilización pero si así lo desea, usted puede acceder a nuestra Política de Cookies para hallar información sobre como eliminar los cookies cambiando su configuración.

Doubt regarding the offside rule
Matthew Ward
Certificado en Leyes del Juego
Brazil

I wonder if someone could clarify a doubt I have regarding the offside rule.

- If a player is in front of the kicker, he is offside.

- If the kicker overtakes the offside player, the offside player is put onside again.

- What happens if the previously offside player then overtakes the kicker, because he is a faster runner... is he offside again, or does the fact that he's been put onside once by the kicker mean that play can continue?

Thanks in advance for any light shed. Smile

Publicado 19 may 2017 01.10
Frederick Shaw
Certificado en Rugby Ready
England

Matthew 

I would suggesst that once the 'offside player' is onside and legal then it would be as if he or she  had been behind the kicker from the point of the ball being kicked.

So as with any player behind the kicker he or she can over take the kicker and compete for the ball without being offside......does that make sense ?

 

How is Brazil ? I am in La Paz. Bolivia and will be moving to Montevideo  in August.   Fred

Publicado 19 may 2017 02.10
Werner Cromm
Educador de oficiales de partidos
Germany

Matthew,

When the kicker, or team-mate who was level with or behind the kicker when (or after) the ball was kicked, runs in front of the offside player the player is put onside.

He will not been put onside if he was interfering with play or moving forward while he was offside or fail to comply with the 10-Metre Law.

If, in your case, the (former offside) player was not within the 10-meter area, he remains onside after he outpaced the kicker. Therefore play continues.

Publicado 19 may 2017 02.10
Matthew Ward
Certificado en Leyes del Juego
Brazil
Posted by Frederick Shaw

Matthew 

I would suggesst that once the 'offside player' is onside and legal then it would be as if he or she  had been behind the kicker from the point of the ball being kicked.

So as with any player behind the kicker he or she can over take the kicker and compete for the ball without being offside......does that make sense ?

 

How is Brazil ? I am in La Paz. Bolivia and will be moving to Montevideo  in August.   Fred

 That makes sense, yes, thanks Fred. I'm originally from the UK but am coaching a team in Brazil, we're playing in our first Sao Paulo state championship this year.

Thanks for your help.

Hope you enjoy Montevideo, I've heard it's a great city.

Publicado 19 may 2017 09.10
Matthew Ward
Certificado en Leyes del Juego
Brazil
Posted by Werner Cromm

Matthew,

When the kicker, or team-mate who was level with or behind the kicker when (or after) the ball was kicked, runs in front of the offside player the player is put onside.

He will not been put onside if he was interfering with play or moving forward while he was offside or fail to comply with the 10-Metre Law.

If, in your case, the (former offside) player was not within the 10-meter area, he remains onside after he outpaced the kicker. Therefore play continues.

 Thanks Werner for clarifying that for me, you gave a very clear explanation.

All the best!

 

Publicado 19 may 2017 09.10


Ingresar o Registrarse

Participe en el Foro del World Rugby Passport Ingresando o Registrándose abajo

Registrarse
© World Rugby 2010 - 2017 | Términos y condiciones | Política de privacidad | Política de Cookies.