I accept cookies from this site

We use cookies to help make this website better. To find out more about the cookies we use, please read our Cookies Policy. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, you consent to this use, but if you want, you can find information in our Cookies Policy about how to remove cookies by changing your settings.

Doubt regarding the offside rule
Matthew Ward
Laws of the Game Certified
Brazil

I wonder if someone could clarify a doubt I have regarding the offside rule.

- If a player is in front of the kicker, he is offside.

- If the kicker overtakes the offside player, the offside player is put onside again.

- What happens if the previously offside player then overtakes the kicker, because he is a faster runner... is he offside again, or does the fact that he's been put onside once by the kicker mean that play can continue?

Thanks in advance for any light shed. Smile

Posted 19 May 2017 01.10pm
Frederick Shaw
Rugby Ready Certified
England

Matthew 

I would suggesst that once the 'offside player' is onside and legal then it would be as if he or she  had been behind the kicker from the point of the ball being kicked.

So as with any player behind the kicker he or she can over take the kicker and compete for the ball without being offside......does that make sense ?

 

How is Brazil ? I am in La Paz. Bolivia and will be moving to Montevideo  in August.   Fred

Posted 19 May 2017 02.10pm
Werner Cromm
Match Official Educator
Germany

Matthew,

When the kicker, or team-mate who was level with or behind the kicker when (or after) the ball was kicked, runs in front of the offside player the player is put onside.

He will not been put onside if he was interfering with play or moving forward while he was offside or fail to comply with the 10-Metre Law.

If, in your case, the (former offside) player was not within the 10-meter area, he remains onside after he outpaced the kicker. Therefore play continues.

Posted 19 May 2017 02.10pm
Matthew Ward
Laws of the Game Certified
Brazil
Posted by Frederick Shaw

Matthew 

I would suggesst that once the 'offside player' is onside and legal then it would be as if he or she  had been behind the kicker from the point of the ball being kicked.

So as with any player behind the kicker he or she can over take the kicker and compete for the ball without being offside......does that make sense ?

 

How is Brazil ? I am in La Paz. Bolivia and will be moving to Montevideo  in August.   Fred

 That makes sense, yes, thanks Fred. I'm originally from the UK but am coaching a team in Brazil, we're playing in our first Sao Paulo state championship this year.

Thanks for your help.

Hope you enjoy Montevideo, I've heard it's a great city.

Posted 19 May 2017 09.10pm
Matthew Ward
Laws of the Game Certified
Brazil
Posted by Werner Cromm

Matthew,

When the kicker, or team-mate who was level with or behind the kicker when (or after) the ball was kicked, runs in front of the offside player the player is put onside.

He will not been put onside if he was interfering with play or moving forward while he was offside or fail to comply with the 10-Metre Law.

If, in your case, the (former offside) player was not within the 10-meter area, he remains onside after he outpaced the kicker. Therefore play continues.

 Thanks Werner for clarifying that for me, you gave a very clear explanation.

All the best!

 

Posted 19 May 2017 09.10pm


Log in or Register

Participate in the World Rugby Passport Forum by Logging in or registering below

Register
© World Rugby 2010 - 2017 | Terms & Conditions of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy.